Hindi

Learn Hindi: Reading, Writing, Conversational

  • Anshu Jain

    periodically teaches the summer Hindi program for High School Students @ UCLA. Click *Hindi Classes * to view current classes.
  • I Learn Hindi

  • Hindi Flashcards

    Available on Amazon

  • Gujarati Flashcards

To talk/ To say: baat karanaa (बात करना)

Posted by ilearnhindi on December 17, 2008

2. baat karanaa: feminine. To talk is classified with feminine gender in Hindi. To talk or To say is a ‘SHE’.

Tip to remember:  I have to confess, I talk way more than my husband. I ask the same question, “so, how was school today?”  to my kids after school. My 11 year old daughter is full of stories and takes most of the commute time telling her stories of the day whereas my 10 yr. old son gives me the same answer “it was good.” If I had not asked him to talk in full sentences, I know I will hear “good” “Ok” “same as yesterday” at the most.  Therefore baat karanaa , to talk is not wrong in being classified as feminine. 

Sentence Formation:

(1) vo achchhii baate^ karataa hai.                          (He says good things.)

(2) mujhe us se baat karanii hai.                             ( I have to talk to him/her)

(3) Ram se baat karanii hai.                                     ( I have to talk to Ram)

(4) Sheela bahut der se baat kar rahii hai.          ( Sheela is talking for a long time)

(5) Ram ne bahut kharaab baat kii                     (Ram said something really bad)

2 Responses to “To talk/ To say: baat karanaa (बात करना)”

  1. namaste Sudar ji,

    kii is past tense of kar which means do. I could have used “karii” but shorter form of ‘karii’ which is ‘kii’ is most often used and thus my choice for teaching conversational Hindi.

    “ne” construction is used for all transitive verbs in their perfective form. Intransitive verbs do not take “ne”. You will need a tutor or lot of self-study to understand ‘ne’ It seems tricky but when explained nicely and practiced much, can be understood well.

    Feel free to contact me if you would like lessons to understand such concepts.

  2. Sundar said

    Panch-van example-ke-bare-me kuch batha deejiye.
    Could you please explain the “ne” construction? Why does the verb get shortened to kii. Dhanyavad.

Leave a comment